Bangladesh travel

Travel, Tourism & Hospitality India will start regular international flights from December 15th


India will resume regular and regular international flights from December 15 after a hiatus of almost 21 months, the Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGAC) announced today (November 26).

Regular international flights have been suspended in India since March 23 last year due to the Covid-19 pandemic. The suspension was extended until November 30, exempting dedicated cargo flights and commercial flights that fall under air bubble agreements with destination countries.

However, special international passenger flights have been operating since July last year under air bubble deals with around 28 countries.

Now, the air bubbles, which restricted flights to some countries during Covid, will erupt on December 14, allowing passengers traveling between India and the rest of the world to also take connections from neighboring hubs in accordance with the agreements of air service with these countries, reported India time.

The resulting increased connectivity will provide respite from sky-high airfares under the bubble system, he said.

The move comes at a time when some countries like the UK and Italy are reimposing limited travel restrictions following the detection of a new variant of Covid in South Africa.

With the move, India became the first major country in South Asia to open its doors since the cataclysmic pandemic rocked the world early last year and could benefit a lot from the advantage of the former. entering.

Countries at high risk of Covid will experience a “calibrated resumption of operations”, ranging from 75% to 50% of pre-Covid levels.

DGCA plans to let airlines operate limited services in 14 countries, reported Hindustan times citing people familiar with the development.

The countries which appear on the list of “at risk” and therefore will not see a 100% recovery of international flights are the United Kingdom, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Finland, South Africa. South, Brazil, Bangladesh, Botswana, China, Mauritius, New Zealand. Zealand, Zimbabwe and Singapore, he added.